The peeps are here!!!!

The babies arrived all safe and sound. The post office called me at 7am and said they arrived priority mail. They got here pretty fast, over night from Iowa. I have them all set up under the warming light, they can’t get any cuter. The kids have been messing with them ever since they arrived. They want them to bond, so they pick up every chick and hold it. The dogs want a turn too, they’d gladly hold one. I’m thinking the challenge is not going to be raising these chicks it’s going to be training the dog not to eat the chickens. I just love the peeping noise they make and the way they snuggle in your hands when you hold them. I got 25 babies with the funny looking pompom on their heads it’s a combination of silver polish, buff polish, white crested black polish, houdans, sultans and crevecoeurs but they also sent me what they call a surprise chick. The surprise chick is brown and different, supposedly a rare breed but I can’t tell what breed it is yet, they leave that as a surprise for you. Bruce has designed me the chicken coop, nothing fancy I said, but you know Bruce. The architect in him sometimes takes over and I still could end up with curved walls and a loft.

 

The weather has finally started getting pleasant, I love it, now being outside isn’t such a steambath. I can get things done a lot easier and that’s a good thing, we have a long list of things to do.