Safety in numbers

The little runner ducks are finally large enough to go outside.

IMG_0658 I tried this last week and it didn’t work. My garden is fenced in so I put all eleven babies in there, but after a few minutes they all escaped. The crazy things, out of sheer terror squeezed their little bodies thru the fence. I spent the next hour chasing them around bushes and trees trying to round them up. This week they’re bigger, so the fence holds them in. The sheer terror was still there, but after an hour things calmed down. I tried to raise these different then the 2 pekin ducks that were killed in the spring. These guys have had minimal human contact. I fed and watered them and that’s it. I want them to fear things. I want them to think everything wants to eat you. Especially wienie dogs that come up to you slowly and friendly like, then after your comfortable, they bite your head off and pluck you. The sight of a friendly wienie dog should  put fear in their hearts. I hope I’ve done my job.

The dogs don’t attack the adult ducks that roam freely in the yard. It’s just babies that they’re attracted to, their innocent curiosity is they’re downfall. I placed a kids pool for them to try out.

IMG_0665They just stared at it. No one wanted to be the first into the unknown.

IMG_0669Eventually one of them realized it was water and they could drink it and not die.

IMG_0675The ultimate discovery was the fact that you could get in the water and actually float. The added benefit was being able to again not die.

IMG_0677With a little encouragement from the adults outside the fence, they all hopped in.

IMG_0688I’m sure they’re all happy no one died. The hazards outside this fence include 3 dogs and 3 cats that are at this moment, just watching  this pretty little picture from the other side of the fence. All of them waiting for me and this laptop to go inside just for one little minute. I’m sure that sneaky wienie is planning something. I’ve got to get thirsty eventually, or maybe I’ll have to pee……..and for those brief minutes I’m inside the house………

IMG_0689How will I even notice just one missing?

3 Comments

  1. mom said,

    September 8, 2009 at 11:28 am

    At last a little news. Love the ducks but I liked the black ones, rest their little quackers. Love your colors, always cheerful. Now I was surprised to see the Nevada gang. I didn’t know you got there. Need a little identification, especially on the right hand side. Can’t find Pam, maybe she was at work that day. But the last three are a mystery. The Nevada Gang, wonderful.

    • Adrianna Reid said,

      September 8, 2009 at 3:32 pm

      The very last three on the right …… Briana which is my sisters kid then behind her is Quin with his little goatee and then the last person is Pam. Yes, she was there even hiked around with us and she brought her dog to. They hung out with us 2 days in Virginia city.

  2. karizorn said,

    September 8, 2009 at 9:01 pm

    Hey, you have a great blog here! I’m definitely going to bookmark you! Thank you for your info.And this is **safety articles** site/blog. It pretty much covers ###construction safety## related stuff.


Leave a Reply

