Election Day

Today, Erin and I went off to vote and improve the economy, by doing some frivolous shopping. I feel sorry for those poor people standing in 3 hour long lines in the big city. Erin and I were out in 30 minutes and I found that short wait horrible.

Erin isn’t able to vote yet, she’ll only be 17 in 2 weeks. I thought watching the democratic process would be a good learning experience so she came with me. She wanted to vote so bad. She said if she could vote she would vote for Obama. Well a funny thing happened when we went to vote, in our little hillbillie town. The old man in charge of leading each person to a voting station messed up. He was very pleasant and was trying to hurry and explain how to vote but the machine was really touch sensitive. He told Erin, “we just have to touch this and it’ll vote for the whole democratic party if you want”. Then he just barely touched it and it lit them all up then he got all flustered and confused as to how to back up and he ended up voting the democratic ticket. I just looked at him and asked if I could vote now. He reset the machine and Erin all happy decided that the mans mistake was just as if she got to vote. She said he voted just like what she would have done. I laughed, only Erin has that kind of luck. She grabbed herself an I voted sticker and was on her merry way.

img_8618

2 Comments

  1. Everett said,

    November 5, 2008 at 12:54 pm

    Congratulations on your first vote Erin! Even if it wasn’t under your name your good intentions were there. I’m so glad Obama has inspired a new generation of Americans to shed apathy and take part in the Democratic process.

    I am just so proud to be an American on this glorious day.

  2. annie said,

    November 14, 2008 at 10:08 pm

    That’s a good story! Way to go Erin.


Leave a Reply

