Post Party Commentary

The party is now in the Reid history books as a success. I wish you all could have been here, but I know crossing state lines is hard. Before I begin my tale, I’d like to assure all of you that no names will be mentioned, as they say, what happens in…..yada yada yada.

We spent Friday cooking and Saturday day setting up, “thank you Pattie and crew, oh and mom and dad also”

Let me set the scene; 50 people (adults + teenagers) liquor, fire, darkness, scavenger hunt, music and I think I should mention liquor one more time.

The party started at 7pm, because nothing says Halloween more, than spooky darkness. We had the party in the outdoor cantina, like last year. We had set up a scavenger hunt in the woods for everyone to try. If the correct items were turned in, a prize could be won. We had everything from dvd movies, to lottery tickets you could win. As with any party, everything starts off organized, but by midnight you can bet all rules are tossed out the window. You spend the rest of the evening making sure no one dies instead. I worried about teenagers and all the liquor I had laying around, but it turns out they behaved. My only mistake, was having energy drinks in the fridge. Energy drinks and teenagers is a no good, very, very, bad thing. Looking back now, I can laugh, but not so much at 3 am when they were still running around.

I had made 11 pounds of chili and several pounds of chicken wings along with desserts and dips. We managed to eat most of everything. We even managed to make 100 jello shots disappear.

I regret the fact that I love a good party and picture taking always takes a back seat. I managed in 8 hours to only take 4 pictures. My sister saved the day by remembering digital cameras have a video feature and even drunks can work that feature. Those of you that were here and have evidence in your cameras, please destroy any that might make Bruce look any worse than this video does.

Some of the highlights for those of you that missed the classic moments were…

A large man was found to be trying to scare his wife and fell off the side of the ravine, you know who you are.

Several people were seen bouncing on the bridge trying to make others fall off .. (thanks Bruce for building a very strong bridge)

By the bonfire a rendition of Sam I Am was screamed so loudly that he was hoarse the next day.

Not to be out done another man repeatedly sang a lovely song for all of us ” There’s a skeeter on my peeter wack it off”

As teenagers danced the redbull kicked in and one was seen dancing striped down to his boxers while others ran around the field and bonfire. Lucky for me with their clothes still on.

A woman who shall remain nameless peed outdoors multiple times. I’m not sure why I bothered to decorate the bathroom it seemed many people did that.

I am happy to report that other than a pair of melted flip flops no one got hurt.

I’m posting this video for your entertainment. I wish the quality was better but liquor and darkness effected this Oscar winning independent film.

Thank you all for coming!!!!

I know it’s hard to see much in this video, but if you get real close to the screen you can almost see Bruces 100 proof breath melting the camera.

2 Comments

  1. Nameless said,

    October 28, 2008 at 1:30 pm

    Hey, no names I thought you said!!

  2. mom said,

    October 29, 2008 at 7:59 pm

    What a fun time. Wish the Reid clan could have come, but perhaps another year. You all had such fun getting ready and enjoying the results. Hope you have fun putting it all away for another year. Thanks for the vidio, we at least got a taste of the event in the dark. Love Mom


Leave a Reply

