The unspeakable number

It’s taken me a while to get to writing. I’ve had family visiting and sitting here is hard to do.

The number is 50, you can say it, you can shout it and I see no problem with it. It is only a problem when it refers to your birthday. I’m still a little ways away from that magical number but poor farmer man he hit it this past weekend. What do you get a man that has everything? I asked him what he’d like for his birthday a while back. Do you know what the best answer he could give me was? “An itty bitty book light” yup it just doesn’t get any lamer than that. I know I can do better than that. I planned and schemed for the last month to get him his present. I will never be able to top this gift, ever. Let me show you his new toy…..

.

.

It took time to coordinate this trap. I took him to a dealership back in March that sold every manufacturer of motor cycles. He even thought it was his idea to go there, he sat on them all. Some were too big, some to uncomfortable but the Honda was jjjjuuussstttt right. Notice the large comfy back seat. I then gave him some lame story about waiting till we got Justin off to college before we bought one and he fell for my trap. I had him take the day of his birthday off from work because we had my sister visiting,  another genius move on my part. Then, while we sat around that morning a truck pulled up pulling a trailer carrying what looked to his horrible eyes as a lawn mower. He thought a landscaper had gotten lost and was going to turn around at our house. When he got closer Bruce finally noticed it was a red motorcycle and all he could say was ” you got to be kidding me” It was a priceless moment. I knew I had managed to get him a birthday present he was not able to guess was coming. He has always guessed what he is getting for his birthday every year not this time. Well he managed to put on a hundred miles on it the first weekend and it would have been alot more if we didn’t have visitors. Today he went off to work with it and I’m sure he’ll be taking the long way home.

2 Comments

  1. mom said,

    July 18, 2008 at 9:43 am

    What can I say as a mother. Being 50 is a good thing, a happy event. The new “toy”? It is scary……

  2. keith said,

    August 3, 2008 at 11:46 am

    Looks fun! Who drives the truck to pull you around on the trailer?


Leave a Reply

