Pokey

Cookie the mini needed a BFF, but I couldn’t afford another mini. Enter Pokey, the next best thing. He is a Nubian Billy goat $30.00.The plan is to neuter him. Everyone says, oh just band him, it’s easy. I just can’t do it, banding sounds painful. Basically you place a band sort of like a zip tie on his privates and over time they just drop off. I’m sure it’s been done since the dawn of time, but I have no luck they’d probably only half fall off or get infected. Who knows what mess I’d make. To have the vet do it is only $50 dollars and he’ll come to the barn and give everyone their shots. I’m going for that option.

Cute huh.

The goat is sweet. We let him loose and he just follows us everywhere we go. I put a dog collar on him and the tags make enough noise so I can hear where he’s at. Pokey likes the wienie dogs, but Olive the Doberman is bigger and he’s pretty sure she has plans to eat him. In time Pokey will be as big as Olive and I’m sure one head butt from him will be enough to stop Olives advances. I’m going to let his horns grow, his father had gorgeous ones they made him look so imposing. Hopefully he’ll grow up to be good tempered, I don’t think he’ll be a problem he was bottle fed and loves people, were planning on spoiling him rotten.

I’ll have more pictures later. Right now were fixing the electric fence so that he won’t escape. Bruce hooked up a new power source and I’m scared to touch it. I watched it throw sparks when the wire was touching metal, it sure looked painful. I know it’s not horribly strong because the 6 pound wienie dog has gotten shocked twice now and lived to yelp away. I’ve gotten shocked by the old one and I’m really not going near this one.

Goats are great escape artists so a strong fence is important.

2 Comments

  1. Bri said,

    June 25, 2008 at 12:27 pm

    i like him, hes pokey dotted. haha =]

  2. July 1, 2008 at 11:06 pm

    OH isn’t he the cutest lil goat! I’d love to have a goat 🙂


Leave a Reply

