Done!!

I feel this haggard.

This year I tried to get ideas for presents early. I even began with the line “if money were no object what would you ask for, for Christmas”? The boy said, “I don’t need anything” and walked away, the girl said, “I don’t know”. So armed with that knowledge, I set off to fight the crowds and spend the next few days just staring at stuff. I’m weak and beaten, but I have somehow managed to come up with things for under the tree. The kids were no help, but the husband can always come up with a dumb idea or two for himself. Needless to say, he isn’t getting what he asked for, don’t feel bad he would only hurt himself. The big baby wanted a go cart. Yup, a go cart so he could tear through the field doing donuts tearing up the grass and I’m sure flipping over. It’s funny, but I’d rather see him fly his paraglider than drive a go cart. It’s a goofy machine for little kids. It would just embarrass me when I have to explain how he broke his arm to the emergency room doc. The chances of that happening are huge. The minute Bruce sat in the display model, I knew there was no way he was getting one. It was like watching a big retarded kid. He sat there, pretend driving and making all the skidding and braking noises kids make. I think it’s probably safer to buy him a chain saw for Christmas.

Well, even with the lack of useful ideas. I managed to get things under the tree, and the 2007 gift buying is over. Cheers to me, I think I’ll go drink a beer and peek under the tree for my name on boxes.

2 Comments

  1. mom said,

    December 20, 2007 at 7:40 am

    Dear Haggard;
    Thanks for keeping my son safe, job well done. Your Christmas card was a hoot. I have been sorting photos this week and now I have all your cards in a row, they make me smile and giggle at the creativity.

  2. Joan said,

    February 13, 2008 at 2:56 pm

    I feel like I’ve caught up, just a little, to where our convo left off. Notice you have been doing most of the talking as usual.

    Will finish looking at your site now. Liked your tree.
    Joan Williams, CSC


Leave a Reply

