Chickens, chickens, chickens

The saga of the chicken continues. I think sometimes were not very good at this, but I’ll tell you all the messy details anyway. I know I’ve said this before, we have no chicken skills, it’s all learn as you go. A while back I sent Bruce out on a culling mission, not to hard, pretty simple I think. We have to many roosters and …. well you know. After one kill under his belt (see earlier post) off he went to do the deed. He picked the evil rooster; Damien. The traditional twirling it around and around was done to break the neck. The last time he tried this it didn’t work out to good so for good measure this time he twirled it around and around then he looked at it and decided he better do it again just it case it didn’t take. He then carried the rooster with the neck bent in half in his hands to the hole he dug. Well go figure the hole was to shallow, so he put the rooster down while he made the hole bigger . That stinkin rooster somehow wakes up during the digging and runs away- off into the woods. So much for effective neck breaking. Now for the next 2 weeks I had a rooster walking around in a retarded daze. He would walk around and then just stare off with that distant look in his eye. We were going to finish him off but Bruce said he’d do it later and later never came. Now, I know you feel bad for him at this point but remember this is Damian, the evil rooster that hates everyone. By the end of week 2 he was back doing some weird sounding crowing and trying to attack me even with his crooked neck. That thing was the devil.

Bruce had a birthday a while back and I forgot to mention it here. I also forgot to mention what he got for his birthday. What does a man living in the woods need? Why a rifle of course. For his birthday he got to be a little kid and shoot cans and targets and make all kinds of noise. Later in the week we thought, hey, we still have way to many roosters and since the neck twisting thing isn’t working, lets just shoot them. I agreed to this only if he promised to get a clean shot to the head . I’m sure you know where this is going. He got a clean shot to the head alright but chickens are harder to kill than you think. That rooster ran all over with a shot to the head, he ended up shooting it 6 times cause it wouldn’t die. I’m so glad Bruce is not working at a slaughter house.

After a few weeks, we started to notice fewer and fewer chickens, at first it was hard to tell. They were being abducted slowly, no evidence of fowl play (sorry for the pun) one minute they were there, the next poof ….gone. I think it was a fox, carrying them off 1 at a time. It just took us a while to notice because this batch of chickens liked to play in the woods. Last count fox 13, chickens 9 . The last 9 live in fear, they don’t want to go near the coop in the evenings. I’m guessing the bad mojo was in that area. Justin has a few favorite chickens. To be on the safe side he decides to put 3 hens and a rooster in the coop and close the door so they’ll be safe at night. Safe from a fox is different than safe from a raccoon it turns out. That night in the cover of darkness the sneaky little visitor had his fill. The coop was closed up but the door that leads to the fenced in area was open. The raccoon with his grubby little hands climbed the 6 foot fence, riped the netting on the top and got in. I never heard a thing. In the morning the gruesome scene was straight out of a Steven King novel. Remember the movie Cujo? The part where the rabid dog comes out from under the crawl space, dirty, drooling and bloody? That’s what I came up to at 7am, except in this scene remove the dog and replace it with a rooster. There in the fenced area, was a rooster covered in dirt and blood running back and forth along the fence with a crazed look in his eye. Then as I scanned the area, I saw why he looked like that. He was surrounded by dead chickens all with their heads pulled off. Raccoons only like to eat a certain part of the chicken and the head happens to be in the way of that delicious part. Now lets recap, fox -13, Bruce -3 , Raccoon -3 hmmm, Now ask me if I have any eggs in the fridge. I’m left with one lonely rooster. He has no girls left to guard so he follows me everywhere. He was so traumatized by the attack he stays far away from the coop and sleeps on my porch. The other chickens left are babies, he doesn’t like to hang out with babies.

Bruce bought the raccoon a little present. We hope to give it to him this weekend.

3 Comments

  1. Pop from former CT, now SC said,

    July 27, 2007 at 10:15 am

    Thinking, isn’t easier going to the store, buy the eggs and leave the pain to the professional farmers?

    Pop

  2. girlnamedgo said,

    July 27, 2007 at 7:55 pm

    Hi, I really can’t say how I wound up at your journal, but… this post intrigues me. I suppose the thing I must say is that, even though the havahart traps seem to be the most humane option, it actually just puts the task of killing critters onto you. We’ve been setting them up for ground hogs, only to find that here in NY it is actually illegal to transport the animals to deposit them elsewhere. Namely, I think it has to do with the fact that here in these rural parts, it just isn’t right to take your problem and put it onto someone else’s farm to eat up their yummies. I’d assume it would be the same with the raccoons; that and I personally have no interest in trying to deal with a mad, possibly diseased, viscious animal. Food for thought, I suppose.

  3. mon said,

    July 28, 2007 at 10:48 am

    Hi again. Sorry for the need for your saga. Sorry too that I had such a good laugh while reading said saga. It is really sad to have all those chickens gone and that poor rooster is so alone sleeping on your porch. Needless to say sorry too that Bruce has such bad luck with his duty as the man of Farm. Life on the farm does have its challenges. Survival of the fittest is at work….Chuck is having a battle with a raccoon too, but its not a life and death event. Our city raccoon is stealing suet for the birds that is packed into logs and hung on hooks. Plan #3 is in force now and not working. We get a little nervous letting Loki out at night when that raccoon could be at work. I really do not like to think of an encounter. Well good luck in solving your problem and with future chickens. Love, Mom


Leave a Reply

