Kitchen madness

I’m busy working on the kitchen, mainly because I’m a wimp and temps in the 40s make me stay indoors. The kitchen walls have some type of covering that is imbeded in the sheetrock so peeling it off was out. Flowers…… ugly, pink and green flowers. I couldn’t live with that. I chose to cover it with the left over contractor paper I had.  The brown thick paper is what builders put down to protect flooring during construction. I had a roll laying around, Bruce said I could experiment with it and if it doesn’t work out he would grudgingly put up new sheetrock. The experiment was a success, at least so far,of course it could all fall apart in a few months but I’m ok with that. I sanded the walls, then I ripped the paper into medium pieces, then I covered it with wall paper paste and over lapped the pieces. It all took a few days but I got it done. I painted the paper to match the green on the other wall. I’m pretty pleased with the way it turned out, there’s a nice texture to it looks like plastered walls. It’s still a work in progress but it’s looking much better than what was there.

I’ll take a few more pictures when Bruce puts up the tops of the cabinets. Ya there’s more to come. You still haven’t seen the purple part. 😉

1 Comment

  1. mom/joan reid said,

    February 15, 2007 at 9:32 pm

    What a great idea for the kitchen problem. Love the colors. Did the books arrive? If so the color one is wild like you, enjoy. We have decided to fly when we come for a visit. Need to chat at some point to chose a time that is good for picking up at the airport. I want to be gone only one weekend, due to work. So travel on Mondays or Tuesdays would be best for my needs. Now it is your need to be met, kids and school, etc. Loved the Valentine card Bruce. We will love you home grounds in any shape and there is always the RV ( no cats there? ) By now I am always checking the Web to see what is going on. Are you thinking of getting a Lama or two? Love Mom Reid


Leave a Reply

