Happy new year!!!

I guess I’m a day late on the Happy New Year wish. I’m sorry, it’s been raining here for the last few days and that tends to slow us down. We were the lazyest bunch of sloths on new years day, we spent it moving from one lazy spot to another. I’ll admit rainy days bring me down but this was a record for us. How bad? you be the judge. The TV in the house never turned off, we some how managed to cook lunch but that only happened because it was only 11 am and we had just begun our slippery slope to slothdom. After taking a long nap to recover from lunch, we shifted to channel surfing from bed. I’ll admit being a sloth is a very slippery slope we just couldn’t function, the smallest tasks were not worth doing. I never combed my hair, we ate donuts for dinner, worse yet we ate donuts in the bed. We never made any new years resolutions. I’m grateful it was only a couple of steps from the bed to the bathroom otherwise who knows. 

I want to blame our situation on the great New Years Eve party at my friend Lisa’s house. We had a great time, but then again we always have a great time at her house. She has lots of food, alcohol, and great company. We danced outside on her deck, great music blasting, no police came, and everyone had fun swiming in her heated pool. There was a nice fireworks display that we could see right from the deck. We were highly entertained by the huge homemade cardboard cut outs of Uncle Sam hanging Saddam. You know the type, life size with a hole cut out so you can fit your own head in place. I’m hoping to get some pictures to display. I like a dummy forgot to bring my camera. The confetti flew thru the air at the stroke of midnight and we made as much noise as those people on Times Square. 

Lisa if you read this… Thanks for the fun, good luck with the clean up I know we didn’t make it easy. When we left there were cups and bottles everywhere, confetti all over the floor, balloons and food, all the signs of a party gone wild. Every year we party at Lisa’s house for the New Year and every year we transform into sloths the next day. It takes a day to transform back, for Bruce it’s a little longer……. he went to work late this morning he’s still in a vacation frame of mind. 

I still have no New Years resolution, I guess I’ll use everyone elses. I’m going to lose weight, exercise more and eat better……….. hahahahhaha ya right I still have donuts left. 😀

++++++++++++++++++++++ 

 A woman goes to the doctor for her yearly physical. The nurse starts with certain basic items:

Nurse: How much do you weigh?

Woman: 115.

The nurse puts her on the scale and it registers 160.

Nurse: Your height?

Woman: 5-feet-8.

The nurse checks and sees she is only 5-4.

She then checks the woman’s blood pressure, and tells the woman it is very high.

“Of course it’s high!” she screams. “When I came in here I was tall and slender! Now I’m short and fat!

2 Comments

  1. mom/joan reid said,

    January 2, 2007 at 5:14 pm

    Happy New Year to all of you. Golly you certainly had a good time. There were three girls marching up and down our quiet street at midnight. They were marching and yelling Happy New Year in unison while banging on pots and pans. It was neat as I peeked out of the window to see their silhouette’s marching in front of a brightly Christmas decorated house across the street. In the neighborhood fire works were completing a grand entrance into the year of 2007. There are surprises when one ventures to peek out their windows. Love Mom

  2. Lisa said,

    January 4, 2007 at 8:29 am

    I’m glad you had fun. I have a lot of leftover clothes. Missing any? Not sure who they belong to. We, like you, went from the bed to the kitchen and back to the bed. That’s due to finally going to bed at 5 am. My neighbor said she was awaken at 3:30 am with people singing the National Anthem. I tried to get people to come in after that. We are not used to that bedtime. This year I did not say no party next year, thanks to hardwood floors. Fun had by all. Thanks for being there.


Leave a Reply

