A little reflection

The kids have now finished their second week of school. It makes me happy to see them go off and not just be hanging around the place making messes. It also makes me aware that they’re both in high school now and college is not to far in the future. The paths they take will be very different from each other. I’ve never seen them agree on anything. Today I thought I’d share with you all a scary picture. It reminds me of my youth, but it’s also terrifying in so many ways. You be the judge…….

5 Comments

  1. Quinn said,

    August 20, 2006 at 6:43 am

    I think it’s a …. double sided Evil coin.

    on one evil side, she will be in JROTC which in all of it’s “disciplinary” skills that it teaches, the fellow classmen will completely destroy every single meaninful element when they are given the chance.

    On the other side of evil, she will be very popular! With jrotc kids..

    here is a plus though.. She looks pretty spiffy, unlike any kid that ever came from my school.

    Good luck there Fellow Reids! As i’m about to set off for a Dorm, not too distant from home but still … I’m unprepared and procrastinating!

  2. mom/joan reid said,

    August 20, 2006 at 5:21 pm

    So young to be wearing a military uniform. A surprise too, a bit sobering for the age we all are living in. Quinn’s comment interesting, I never thought of jrotc as being evil … There is a show going on outside our window, only a mere 6″ away. Two young Cardinals are being fed by good ole dad who is fighting off the goldfinches, chickadees and titmice that are trying to have their fill too. Oops a new bird just arrived, Chas is off to find the ID book. Discussion time. Thanks for the picture, perhaps one of our future protectors. Thanks too for all the photos, they came yesterday. Lots of wonders to see in the good ole USA. Bye now Love MOM

  3. Linda Pearson said,

    August 22, 2006 at 6:55 am

    Hi Adrianna, I think Erin looks great in her uniform. Hope she will enjoy being in ROTC. Looks like the farm is coming along. I am missing you at work. I looked at the schedule last night and there was a red 7 in your slot for today. I got excited for just a minute thinking you were coming back for just one more day until Pattie told me it was just the end of the 10:30-7 writtten in her slot. The new schedule is out and how sad not to see you gone. Did you start your new job? Or did you scare all your new fellow workers in your meeting? Call or e-mail and let us know if your new hospital does something different that might help us. We do miss you but somehow we are managing to get up each day and go to work. The coffee pot is missing you too. It is staying much fuller these days. I do enjoy reading all about your farm so it’s not like you left and all we have to look forward to is the Christmas card. Talk to you later. Linda

  4. Sarah said,

    August 22, 2006 at 10:31 pm

    I think your daughter looks fabulous. Good for her for stepping up to be a “Rotsy”. Later on it will look great on a resume and IF she does decide to make military her way of life it may help in her rank – who knows. The pictures are great. Um…you guys din’t eat the “shrooms” did you? I don’t recommend it and tell Justin to put that smoldering stick down – remember the last story you told me….FIRE IN THE HOLE!
    Miss you around IMH. No body to laugh at…I mean with!!! Seriously – it’s just not the same. Can you fly your little plane/kite thingy to work every day from where you are?

  5. Bri said,

    November 21, 2006 at 12:29 pm

    Not so bad, looks quite profesional


Leave a Reply

