Hello from S.C.

   We did it, we can say we’re 90% moved. The last load will be the things in the garage and the Whale. I’m still traveling back and forth to work till August 15th but it’s 3 days a week and I’m ok with

 that.The first big surprise in our new house was the neighbors. They are truly from here, grew up here, have family here, and speak the lingo. I think they’re close to our age and lucky us they have no kids. They stopped by this past weekend to give us a gift. They knew we didn’t have time to plant a garden so they made us a basket from their garden. Mmmmmmm corn, squash, apples, peppers and fresh eggs from her chickens. She put together a nice basket, she even decorated it with cut flowers from her yard. I love the South!!! We talked for a bit and I told her how I loved hearing her rooster crow in the morning and that I’m waiting for Bruce to build my chicken coop so I can have 3 or 4 chickens. She laughed and said her daddy has a bunch of chickens and guinea hens and when I’m ready we could go for a ride and “pick ya out a few“, again I love the South!!!

    The moving hasn’t stopped us from, “messin” in the yard as they say. Bruce accepted the arrival of his new baby with open arms. It turns out John Deere was a stubborn old coot, not strong enough for our demands, so we left him standing in the lot with his other green friends and paid a visit to the Japanese. The Kubota family has stronger genes, they’re not green like Mister Deere, they’re Orange and shiny, oh and have a handy cup holder. After much haggling and thought, Bruce ordered a brand new baby Kubota. The baby has teeth, you can’t work the land without attachments. On delivery day the shiny new addition to the family, came with a bush hog and a box blade scraper and to my delight a big loader. The things I’m planning for the baby make me grin. Knowing the baby can dig and pick up anything I tell it to has me planning. Bruce drove it all weekend, rain and shine. He ran over trees, pushed dirt and looked like a redneck farmer. Of course I ran and got the camera cause you know you’re a redneck when you ride your tractor shirtless in the rain.

 

3 Comments

  1. Lisa said,

    July 31, 2006 at 2:27 pm

    That is way cool you guys!!! I need your phone number if ya have one. Do ya have a telephone pole you have to climb to answer it? HAHA. We need to get together soon. Give me a call.
    lisa

  2. Sarah said,

    August 17, 2006 at 8:27 pm

    Okay, well Bruce may look like a “redneck” without his shirt but it looks like he’s not wearing pants in this picture – is he still a “redneck” or just a pervy farmer man?

  3. Bri said,

    November 21, 2006 at 12:18 pm

    It kinda looks like hes a completely naked reid in the rain.


Leave a Reply

