Estes Park, Colorado

We did it, we managed to get a camp site for the night. We had to move to a new spot in the same park with no hook ups, but they ran an extension cord for us. Here we are in Estes park for 1 more day. We did a little hiking thru the Bear Lake trails, we made it up to Emerald Lake. I remember it being bluer last time I was there. I’ll have to wait till I get home to compare pictures from 18 years ago. One thing I know for sure, there was definitely more oxygen and it wasn’t as steep a climb. When we finally made it to the top we sat on the rocks for a snack, the kids loved the chipmunk that kept climbing all over Erin. It was trying to steal our trail mix, Little beggar would not leave. We started our hike down just as it began to rain, so when we reached the bottom, that was our chance to do what we do best….. nap. I think naps are the best when it’s raining and quiet, especially after a 4 mile hike.

We don’t sit still for to long, after the nap we needed to go do something, anything. We found a cool mountain climbing store in the visitors guide book that had rock climbing walls. Rock climbing is easy when your 10 and weigh 60 pounds, but when your (lets just say older) it turns into a challenge. Now I had two kids circling me and staring at 30 foot high walls, daring me to beat them. I’m not one to turn down a challenge, no dumb kid is going to show me up no matter how stupid an idea it was. The place had a nice set up, soft spongy floor to cushion my fall, real thick ropes and a skinny little kid holding the end that’s supposed to save me from death. I think my one thigh weighed more than him. Now I can’t lose to the kid, I’ll never hear the end of it. We climbed 3 times and each climb got harder. By the last one every muscle in my body was trembling. Bruce and I showed them kids we can keep up, we got the video to prove it. Of course tomorrow when we can’t move they’ll show us who really won.

3 Comments

  1. Quinn said,

    July 3, 2006 at 5:54 am

    I hope you used some good ol’ fashioned road rage, kick them while they’re down! That’s what they get for being below you, even if the only reason they are lower is because you put them there!

  2. Sarah said,

    July 3, 2006 at 9:24 pm

    I honestly thought the first picture was of Erin until I scrolled down. Way to go Adrianna for looking so fit even though you are…let’s just say older… Can’t wait to see all the photo’s on your return. Be safe – we’ll be here waiting! Shame on us for having to see the West through you guys.

  3. Briana said,

    July 12, 2006 at 5:31 pm

    Ha thats surprising. just kidding. Just like my mom, does something simple then so tired the next day. hope you had fun though.


Leave a Reply

