Hittin the road

The time has arrived for the big trip. We've been slowly packing stuff into the RV but now it's down to the wire. I'm pestered by that little voice in my head, you know the one… (I'm sure I'm not the only one with little voices in their head), anyway the little voice constantly reminds me I'm forgetting something. We've got everything including the kitchen sink, what could possibly be missing? I'm sure we can buy what ever I've forgotten on the road, especially since Bruce has us stopping at the luxurious RV campground also known as the walmart parking lot. We packed half our house into this thing. I'm becoming an expert packer. Some of you may know we packed up and sold our lake house in February and moved to this rental house. We have since packed up half our stuff and placed it in a rented storage unit in SC some things just don't fit in the new and much smaller house in Richburg. I'm going to pack and move the other half of the stuff to the new house, when we get back from the trip. In the mean time here I am packing the RV. Pack, pack, pack, pack now I know why it's a four letter word. Ok in the event of our untimely demise, our stuff is spread across 3 states. Your all welcome to it if you can find it (Ahh, I have an idea for a TV show). I packed it and can't find half the stuff I'm looking for most of the time. As I write this I'd love to enclose a picture but the camera is packed and I got no time to get it.

6 Comments

  1. "I told you so" Daddy said,

    June 9, 2006 at 9:54 pm

    Well, I have been very busy lately, but I had to take a break to write a comment BEFORE you guys leave.

    First … Adrianna, you don’t know how much enjoyment I had, after 30 and some years to hear those magical words…”I have to admit, but my Father was right” …
    Fantastic !! I was getting anxious just thinking I would never, ever, hear them before my time was over !!!

    Keep it up !! You’ll like the sound of them …

    The chicken coop is coming up very good and I’m surprised how soooo quick… Just relax a little, you guys are going to be burned out before the end !!

    Are the walls up? Are those 4×4 sticks supposed to hold the roof without walls if a little wind comes around while you’re enjoying the Grand Cannon view? I hope it does !

    Those ants are looking promising… Don’t they eat wood, specially 4×4’s ? I know, you have then on concrete pilons.. but …

    Nice cleared land…hmmmm, put some grass seeds, some markings, 2 goals (with 4×4) and make a soccer field !!
    Who knows, “if you build it, they will come”
    I can sell some hot dogs and beer to suplement my Social Security and survive !

    I will send you a farmer’s Almanac with some pictures so you can differenciate between a grape and a plum.

    OK, now talking seriously… we, (Mother, KC and I), wish you an unforgettable trip and lots of fun !!
    and:
    – Don’t speed
    – Don’t pass anybody
    – Shift gears downhill and check the brakes
    – Don’t drink the water

    Hey…. HAVE FUN !!!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. mom/joan reid said,

    June 14, 2006 at 5:53 pm

    Great start, Truck Stops!!!. We have had some great meals at truck stops and entertainment to boot. This blog is a great idea and Adrianna you should be an author after you are finished with this first travel log. We can visualize it all and your personality comes thru to give us a good laugh. Happy trails, so far so good. Scary Rabbit tale. Glad you are safe and sound in your air conditioned belly of the whale. Does your whale have a name?
    Love Mom Reid.

  3. Pattie said,

    June 16, 2006 at 12:49 am

    I think it should be called “The Whale Shark” since that was part of your first stop.

  4. Briana said,

    June 16, 2006 at 11:53 pm

    Wow, doesnt everyone just love packing. Packing is the most boring part of the trip, especially when you have to comeback and unpack. You also have to pack the stuff u buy when you are in the…………..other places. Then that means more unpacking. well ill stop saying the word pack (its tortre ((however you spell torture)) ing you), cause if i say pack anymore then youll get mad because ive said pack enough and youve already packed enough, and i have a feeling that if i say pack so much, that when we see you sometime your gonna PACK (last time) my head into the ground. well good luck with all your unpacking (ha, you cant cout that as a pack cause i said UNpack, mmwwaaahahah. ok, bye.

  5. Linda Pearson said,

    June 18, 2006 at 9:50 pm

    We just got back from our vacation to Wisconsin, only a week but that was enough with 5 grandchildren all having “fun”. they don’t see each other very often so they really have loud fun when they do get to be together. It was a good family time and we had fun too. It’s all over so quickly and tomorrow it’s back to work. We enjoyed your pictures of the Carlsbad caverns and whitesands. It brought back memories of our times at those places so many years ago. It sounds like you are having a great time and thanks for the blog and sharing your trip with us. Can’t wait to read some more

  6. kylene johnson said,

    June 28, 2006 at 5:57 pm

    looks like you guys are having a great adventure. i have been to your site a couple of times to see what you were up to. i must say you are having a much better time than we are at work adrianna! things have been busy at work,but hopefully it will slow down a little for the 4th.i have enjoyed all the pictures (even with my dial-up computer).you have done and seen alot – i will look forward to seeing all your pictures. are you also doing a video?i hope the remainder of your trip will be fun and safe. keep posting the pictures and we will keep watching. take care—kylene johnson


Leave a Reply

