Power Tools

When I was growing up, my dad said we had to learn to use power tools. No girl of his was going to be just a pretty flower (ok maybe not in those exact words). He didn't really say why, I figured it was like Algebra, you don't know why you need that skill, you just do. Now I'm all grown up and as much as I hate to admit it, my dad was right. My power tool using skill has been useful. I'm still waiting on the algebra to come in handy. This weekend the circle of life continues and my daughter learned the power tool skill. 

We started construction on the storage shed/chicken coop.We began early Saturday morning and continued in 93 degree weather all day. We mixed concrete, cut wood.  Our slave driver boss kept us moving till evening. Early the next morning we were up at 6:30

The heat was relentless by 9AM it was in the 90's and we smelled and looked as bad as a wad a chewin tbaca in an old geezers mouth.We finished up by 8pm and I think it turned out pretty nice. The kids learned a lot they were the ones that put together the trusses and passed them up to Bruce. They really were great, I didn't hear much complaining. I'm hoping to go back to the house wednesday to put on the metal roof we ordered.

 We leave for the big road trip in 12 days so we are running out of time. Once we come back from the trip, we have only 2 weeks. Everything has to be ready cause the kids start school and we will start living there full time. 

4 Comments

  1. Lisa said,

    May 30, 2006 at 4:20 pm

    Wow, I’m looking at your runway, I can’t believe how much you (or they) have done! I can’t even picture where they cleared it had so many trees last time. It was so hot this weekend and you guys just don’t stop. I bet you will have to make up for the time in the rental house when you could do no building. I can’t find your phone number call me. Or just send it email

  2. mom/joan reid said,

    May 31, 2006 at 12:28 pm

    Hi you all land lovers down there. Love your blog. As usual you are all quite the workers and you have already accomplished a lot. It looks beautiful, the temps do not sound so great. The last couple of days here have broken the heat scale around 90 degrees. We went to see RV with Robin Williams and had a good laugh replacing your family with those in the movie. Hope your adventures are not quite as extreme. It is odd to hear how soon your school starts, as Ariel and Dylan aren’t even out yet. Hope your Journals came and that they will be fun and useful too in writing your Blog. In 10 days you will welcome hitting the road and cooling off or at least getting away from the humidity. Great Job Adreanna, Love it all. Mom Reid

  3. Big Daddy Reid said,

    June 1, 2006 at 3:04 pm

    The old saying is “Get a lot while your are young.” Man o’ man, you really got a lot this time. Now that we (my first wife) and I are retired, going to the local park is a major event. I envy you all and wish you the best in your adventures. Here are a couple of photos of some stuff that I recall from my last trip someplace. Watchout, it’s everywhere! **!## How do you put photos in here?

  4. Brizzizle (Briana) said,

    June 5, 2006 at 3:17 pm

    Yes its been very hot. You guys seem to have alot of fun things planned out ahead of you. Make sure “Yall” have fun, but not too much fun. My mom told me about the paintball ravine, “Yall” better have some ammo left for when we come and visit, cause I plan on getting plenty of paintball briuses, and getting really soar from riding bikes and exploring the woods with Erin and justin, just not chris cause i know he wont go in those woods. well see ya lata.


Leave a Reply

